Relevant Questions (aka-Does Carmen Sandiego use Uhaul?)

It is now time for another segment of Relevant Questions. Please remember, these are questions that have come up in my every day life.

Q: Is it really lucky if a missile lands in one piece?
A: That depends. What happens to it after it lands? Every missile lands, but how long it stays intact after that is the real question.

Q: Is it okay to refer to working with younger kids as “herding cats”?
A: Always. In fact, my favorite phrase to use when describing what it’s like to get kids to move is that it’s “like herding cats across water”.

Q: Kleenex can kill 99.9% of what?
A: According to my brother, it’s babies.

Q: Do states rights usually come in a bottle?
A: Yes, but only in the south.

Q: Can you steal free vegetables?
A: Yes, please do. Especially the cucumbers and zucchini.

Q: Did Carmen Sandiego use a Uhaul?
A: No, she sprung for Mayflower. A Uhaul would be too small to transport all the lakes in the state of Michigan.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled blog.

I have to credit my younger brother with a good number of the questions above. I have to say, his ADHD does indeed make life interesting. Some of the funnier things we’ve ever come up with involve Swedes with amphetamines, it would be absolute hell to golf here (said on the side of a mountain), and the Random Association Game (one of our favorite games when we’re board). Yes, I can say he’s gotten better (and funnier with age), and isn’t nearly as annoying as he used to be. He can still be a pain, but he’s my brother (this means only I can beat him up, and yes, I have threatened people to stay away from him. I’m sure anyone with a younger sibling understands).

The most exciting thing that happened today (if you can really call it exciting) was helping mom process vegetables. Yes, this is a byproduct of the mad gardening crew. My mom’s best friend (mad gardener extraordinaire) has a huge garden, and she gives us vegetables. Today we dealt with an abundance of green peppers and corn (by the way, we have enough corn for several years to come). Processing the corn involves blanching it (boil, then quickly cool) and then cutting it off the cob. After you bag it, you have to suck the air out of it so that it doesn’t get freezer burn. All I have to say about that fiasco is that 1) I am far too nit picky for mom’s taste (making sure all the bugs are out) and 2) corn kernels in the lung hurt.

I did another edit to Calling Down the Rain doing some of the additions that I’d hoped for. I am really looking forward to hear what Mornara has to say about this round of edits. I know that there are probably things that could be done better (and I’m sure she’ll tell me about them), but I think I’m getting to the end of the editing road. I think I’m going to call it finished tomorrow, no matter what anyone else says. So, one more round of edits, and that’s it. And then it’s off to Goodnight Earth.

Remember, mad gardening can cause injuries to the person, so take the necessary precautions to keep you and your family safe.

I’d really like some comments right about now. Please?

4 comments

  1. Comment!

    Okay, in all seriousness though siblings I have found need to be taken in doses. Too much and you’ll be at each other’s throats! ^^;

    All those veggies sound great for sauteing! Have fun cooking!

    PS: She only uses Uhaul when it is something that can be transported in there. At the same time though, knowing Carmen’s nature as a bit of a plotter, I wouldn’t put it past her to leave plenty of red hearings… Meaning for all we know she uses Two Men and a Truck! (And yes, this is a real moving agency. 😉 )

  2. Send the story on over m’dear! I’m looking forward to it.

    State rights most certainly do come in a bottle down here. A 2 dollar bottle of wine, from what I’ve seen. The cheaper the better you know!

  3. hee.. relevant questions indeed!

    Hey Havoc I’ve seen 3 men in the 2 Men and a Truck, truck. Talk about your false advertising.

    I’m the oldest so all my siblings are younger siblings (including Cindy) and I have to agree they are fun. While I loved teasing the heck outta my baby brother (literaly he’s 14 years younger then I am) I’m glad he’s getting older, he just learned to use sarcasim its Hilarious!!! Espeicaly when he calls you on it.

Leave a Reply

