A Publishing Journey (aka-Where can I Find What I’m Looking For?!)

I’ve spent most of the day looking through my Writer’s Market books, trying to figure out where I could send Calling Down the Rain. The problem with this is that it refuses to let itself be pulled into one specific genre and sit there like a good little story. I mean it’s part fantasy, and part paranormal. And then it won’t let itself get classified as far as tone goes either. It isn’t a light piece (a little girl dies for Lord’s sake), but it also isn’t on a Lovecraftian level either as far as the darkness, horror and trauma goes. So, where does that leave me? With a whole lot of rather vague choices to try to pick from. I almost wish that I had fewer choices, but with the way things are going, I might need to submit to almost every single one of the ones I have marked. Or not.

The annoyance of looking at page after page of people who wanted nothing at all to do with fantasy finally got to me and I went to bake cookies instead. Or well, that’s my excuse anyways (I swear I’m ADHD on the computer. Kind of the opposite of my brother. Where as he can concentrate really well on one thing while on the internet, I have to be doing a million things at once. Check that, I’m trying to do a million things at once, which usually ends in me doing things in really little chunks and nothing really getting done at all. Is it any wonder that I do my first writing on paper when I don’t at least won’t have any other distractions that beep at me wanting to RP?). So, I have cookies to take with me to Pennsic on Friday now. I’m sure that while they won’t taste quite as absolutely awesome as they do today, they will still be pretty darn good when I give them to their Excellencies.

After making cookies, I went back to looking for a place to get published. By the way, for anyone who’s seriously looking for someone who can read their story and tell them yay or ney, I would very much suggest investing in a copy of the Writer’s Market. It’s been VERY helpful in my search for something suitable, though it’s rather too bad that about half of the places I would have loved to send Calling Down the Rain (hereafter known as CDtR) had closed recently do to the recent turn of events in the economy. So, I’m left instead with things I’d rather not contemplate.

By the by, I did eventually decide to send it to Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine, just so I can say that I tried. They are one of the most prestigious magazines out there. And hey, if I get my work in there I can get it ANYWHERE. Or just about anywhere. I hope. I’m not sure that CDtR is fantasy enough for them, though. Oh well, if I don’t get it published there, I’ll try somewhere else. I’m thinking after reading their site, though, that if I do Goodnight Earth well enough that they might accept that. And that is perfectly alright with me. I know poor CDtR doesn’t want to play nice with the other literature, but there’s not really anything I do about it at this point without completely changing the story (and you know I’m not going to do that when I’m happy with it as is). So, I’m going to print it and a cover letter and hopefully send it off tomorrow. We’ll have to see what happens, but don’t expect to hear about it again for at least two months.

A random aside sent to me by Mornara: I’m not the only one with house spirit problems, though this poor gentleman’s might be of a more corporeal sort.

Remember, keep an eye on your plumbing, you never know what those house spirits will hide next!

Comments are greatly appreciated. They make me feel loved.

Leave a Reply

