Monday Night Movies (aka-Japanese Spiderman)

I actually meant to post yesterday, but I have a very good reason for not posting. Mainly because I was in bed sick. I will spare you all the details, but suffice to say, I wasn’t in any condition to be doing a blog. I’m better today, hence the post. Not a lot happened yesterday anyway with my being sick and all. I spent most of the day in bed reading manga and talking to Havoc online.

Now it’s time for all of our favorites, the Monday night movie review! Today’s movie is the Japanese Spiderman. Apparently the Japanese wanted to make a fairly faithful adaptation of the original (or as faithful an adaptation as you can make in live action). They were doing an okay job for early 70’s Japan until they introduced the giant robot (actually that apparently inspired the giant mech’s in the series that would be Power Rangers in America). It’s got everything, though. Women’s lib, people dying without any real reason (multiple times I might add), toys that become horrifying monsters that then grow to enormous size for no real reason. It also has it’s own dominatrix. If you are going to watch it for humor value, I’d suggest you watch it with friends. Other than that, I’d say run like the plague. It’s one of the worst things I’ve watched in a long time. It’s not just the cheep special effects, either. The logical failures are astounding. And continuity flaws. Oh the continuity flaws. I think it’s best sumed up by the question “WHAT THE HELL?!” SO, tune in next time when I watch and blog about another horrendous Sciffy movie.

So, other than that, today was fair. I got through my classes (barely) and went to SCA. I would have really liked to have had a nap sometime in there, but it didn’t happen. I’ll try to sleep in a little tomorrow to make up for it. Or not. I have a lot of reading to do for tomorrows class as well as two papers to finish editing and writing critiques for. Well, I suppose half an hour more sleep won’t kill me. At least I hope not.

Speaking of editing, I haven’t really done anything more on any of my stories because of the start of classes. I’ve been really swamped by readings, and I think I’m going to have to buckle down even more if I’m going to do both the readings and all of the assignments that are going to start popping up soon. With the stories for class going on, I don’t think I’m going to have time for Goodnight Earth for a while. I haven’t submitted Calling Down the Rain again either. Time once again. I’ll do it soon. Probably this coming weekend. Or not. I think I’ve heard something about being dragged off to an SCA event. I sigh. It’s not that I don’t want to go, it’s just that it’s going to take the entire day. Oh well. I guess there’s always next weekend.

Remember, robots make everything better in Japan!

Comments are appreciated. They make me feel loved.

Leave a Reply

