Bruises (aka-I get them too easily!)

I have been reminded rather recently by my renewal in the exercise routines that I bruise rather easily. When I say rather easily, I mean a well placed and sufficiently forceful jab with your finger can and does leave bruises. I say I noticed this recently because fighter practice involves a lot of just such pokes, especially when you are as out of practice and out of shape as I am. Now, I’ve known for a long time that I bruise easily. I used to be peppered with bruises after every single practice not all that long ago, and that was back when I was still fighting on more of a regular basis. I’ve done a little research on this and it appears that you will bruise the easiest in places with little fat. So..why am I getting bruises ALL over the place? Well, the other thing it might be is some kind of a vitamin deficiency. I actually wouldn’t be that surprised if that was the case. Another thing I’ve noticed is that the best way to get bruises to disappear fairly quickly is to eat fruit. Of course this probably means I should be eating more fruit than I currently am, but I’m kind of picky about what I do and don’t eat in the fruit world (I wasn’t exposed to a lot of things as a child, and as a result I have a hard time with some of the different textures of the fruits I didn’t eat).

One of the articles I read claimed that deficiencies in B12, C, K, and folic acid. I actually take vitamin supplements (in gummy bear form!) every day to help with what I don’t get enough of in my diet (which I am coincidentally trying to improve). Another search of the internet has revealed to me that I probably should be eating more cereals since they appear to have been fortified with all sorts of great vitamins that might otherwise be missing from peoples’ diets. Other things to help with your diet include beef liver and black eyed peas. Yum. I think I’ll stick with the cereal, thanks.

So, what does all of this mean? I think it means that I need to be a little more careful on the battlefield, get into better shape so they can’t stab me, and when they do stab me, eat some fruit and or cereal to help get rid of the bruising. Arnica also works well when it comes to getting rid of bruising. If you have trouble with bruising, trying getting more of the above vitamins in your diet. Thinks might improve for you. If not than you’re just one of the lucky ones that bruise easily. It’s nothing to really worry too much about. Well, so long as people understand where you keep getting these bruises from. Explaining the sword thing can be tricky, especially when it is your boyfriend stabbing you.

Remember, if it’s consensual, it’s not a crime. Even if it is with swords.

Comments are appreciated. They make me feel loved.

Leave a Reply

