First Draft (Aka-I stayed up way too late last night)

Well, I did it. I stayed up until 3:30am on Monday night and officially plowed my way through the first draft of Goodnight Earth. Now I’m going to put it away for another month. Not that I want to. I really want to jump right into editing it. Or writing again. I really don’t want to be working on All is Well at the moment. I think part of this is the reactions I’ve gotten from the first two readers of Goodnight Earth (here after in this post Goodnight Earth will be referred to as GE and All is Well shall be referred to as AiW). I don’t think I’ve gotten much higher praise for any of my other writing, and I really want to go and work on the few sections that were pointed out to me. But I can’t. I need to go read for my Imperial Spain class. I need to start researching for a paper in that class too. I need to edit the two papers I have so far for my creative writing class, and I really do need to get AiW through the wringer. I’m feeling more inspired for that piece than I have for either of the other two, so I have hope for it, but right now all I want do is write more for GE. I also need to figure out what I’m going to be writing after I’m finished with GE and AiW. I know that I need to do some serious revisions on With the Water and Never Get Mad (my first two short stories for my creative writing class), but I’d also like to start planning my next writing project. I do have more ideas for short stories, but I have no idea which one I’d want to use.

Now, on a completely different note, it is very hard to do direct and accurate translations for the romanticized versions of languages that have words that sound the same but look different when written in their native tongue. My example for this would be the Japanese language. A sentence that should have read ‘I secretly wink at Looney and James’ ended up reading something like ‘I am secretly Looney, and watch the signals cherishing James.’ It was WEIRD (and didn’t actually make as much sense as the sentence I just wrote.)

On another random note, it is now suddenly fall here on campus. When I left last Friday, it was in the 80’s. When I got back it was in the mid 70’s. Somehow overnight it has gone down to the 50’s. The leaves, which were all green last Friday, have started to change colors, and it doesn’t look like it’s going to get warmer any time soon (yippee!) so yes, fall has landed. Now I just have to be careful not to be standing under any of the trees on campus when they loose their leaves all at once. It does make a satisfying ‘whump!’ when it happens, though. Kind of like snow when it falls. Yes, that was a joke attempt.

Remember, falling leaves can be dangerous to your well being.

Comments are appreciated. They make me feel loved.

2 comments

  1. O.o I didn’t realize that really happened… I mean with the leaves. They just sort of start falling… then empty.

    Have fun in classes again. I miss that.

Leave a Reply

