Monday Night Movie (aka-Twilight)

Yes, I will admit that this one is my fault. Not totally or completely, but it is still my fault and I will take responsibility. You see, I watched this movie last semester. I have a bad habit of trying to make informed decisions when I say I don’t like something (sometimes these informed decisions are quite traumatic). I watched Twilight, and regretted it. I also, in a rather sadistic manner, wanted to inflict it upon someone else. This someone else happened to be Skiffy, of course. And thus Twilight with Rifftrax got onto the list. And there it stayed until last week when the vote came down to it and Land Before Time 11 (no, I’m not making up the number, it really does go on that long, God help us.) At least Twilight had the Rifftrax going for it. (Now, for those of you who are thinking what the heck are “Rifftrax”, they are a humorous, separate sound track played with the movie itself. From the makers of MST3K. Good stuff.) Still not the best choice in movies, to say the least.

This week’s movie seemed to start out okay. The rifftrax showed promise of at the very least making the movie bearable. There were even some gasps when the van almost crushed Bella (I was still rooting for the van). And then the sparkles began. Last week’s scream-o-vision was back, in stereo. Imagine if you will, a chorus of screams, and wailing and gnashing of teeth every time sparkles appeared on screen (and to give you some idea of how tired I am at current, I originally had that written the gnashing and wailing of teeth…). As the Rifftrax said, that’s not a vampire, that’s a metropire. And the movie went downhill from there. Way, way, way down hill. And it wouldn’t flipping end. Why won’t it end?! Ugh. I ended up being annoyed enough by it that I couldn’t write my review straight away after the movie ended like I normally do. I went and did homework to cleanse my brain. That’s kind of sad when you think about it.

Speaking of homework, I’ve rewritten With the Water (hereafter referred to as WtW) It has jumped from just under four full pages long to well onto the sixth page. I hope that I got a lot of the characters across better and that their motivations and such will satisfy the class. I sigh. I’ll email that out tomorrow. You know, after I’ve had some sleep. Heh, sleep. Not going to get much of it tonight. Oh well. If you all would like to read the new WtW, then all you have to do is head on over to the Fifthwind forum. Its under the prose section, Kuro’s assignments (or I suppose you could just use this link). I’m much happier with WtW this time around, so I kind of hope you all will agree with me. If not, I’d like to hear that as well.

So, now that it’s 4:17 and I have to get up for work tomorrow, I’m going to say goodnight! Sorry the post is short.

Remember, even Rifftrax can only do so much for a movie. It’s still better than without them, though.

Comments are appreciated. They make me feel loved.

5 comments

  1. You did read my Twilight ‘fan-fiction’, right? It’s very therapeutic to write about characters you don’t like getting horribly mangled.

    And the movie really is horrible. I know your pain.

    1. No, it really isn’t. Or well, it isn’t past the part where he starts to sparkle. Up until then the rifftrax make it bearable. Still, I wouldn’t waste my time on it again.

Leave a Reply

