Late Monday Night Movie (aka-Fanboys)

So this post is now two days late (I refuse to acknowledge it being Thursday yet; I haven’t slept, therefore it is still Wednesday). I’d like to say I’m sorry, and I kind of am. Mostly I’m sorry that the two papers I have due next Monday are eating up this much of my time. I haven’t been online since Tuesday, and I probably won’t be online again for quite a bit (at least not until late Friday, and maybe not even then). All this in the effort to beat the clock. Anyways, on to the review!

I have to say, I LOVED this movie. It was absolutely hilarious. A self aware, story about a bunch of nerds who are trying to quest for Episode One. There are cameo appearances like you wouldn’t believe. William Shatner had to be my favorite: “Are you kidding? I’m William Shatner. I can score anything.” (On how he got the specs for how to break into Sky Walker Ranch and steal Episode One). It’s funny, though, because later in the movie, one of the guards asks “How did you all break in? Was William Shatner involved?” with no prior evidence to the other’s involvement. It makes one wonder if there had been previous attempts. I also enjoyed the last line of the movie, after everything that happens, the remaining friends gather to watch the opening, and just as the movie is about to start, one turn as asks “Hey guys..what if the movie sucks?” I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone willing to admit they’re a geek.

On another note, I discovered something last Thursday. My freshman RA, Alexandra Bracken is having her first novel published! Huray for her! Did I mention she graduated last year? I will admit it. I’m insainly jealous. I’m also in awe. She’s been working on this novel since my freshman year (at least) which is probably part of the reason she was able to get it published so soon after college. Still, it makes me jealous. I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to do something similar in terms of time frame (even though I technically haven’t started writing the first novel I hope to have published). The best part about this is that Alex’s book, Brighlty Woven looks like it’s going to be a good read. I really can’t wait to go buy it in March! Check it out and tell me what you think.

In other news, a combination of finding out that Alex is published and receiving certain feedback on my short stories is making me a little twitchy when it comes to my writing. I’m going to have to make a couple more editing runs through Goodnight Earth and another through Calling Down the Rain before I allow them out to potential publishers again. I have a list I need to tick off on: passive voice, repetitive word/phrase usage, clarity of motives, the list goes on and on. I’m a little worried there might be things I’ve missed the first time around. On the other hand, it could just be paranoia on my part.

Remember, loss of sleep results in loss of reasoning capacities. I need more sleep.

Comments are appreciated. They make me feel loved.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

