Monday Night Movie (aka-Loaded Weapon)

I meant to write you all a couple lovely posts this past week (actually I’ve been meaning to write a few for a couple of weeks now (mostly about the snow and the college’s emergency management team inability to deal with it like rational, intelligent beings). I’ll still probably get around to giving you those lovely photos sometime. Perhaps when the next storm comes rolling in sometime tomorrow (did I mention that we’re supposed to get yet another storm tomorrow?)

So, on to what you all are waiting for, the movie review. Just the name, National Lampoon’s Loaded Weapon, should be a tip off that this was a comedy. I was going to do another commentary of it, but honestly too much was happening way too fast for me to get more than a few snippets and still have time to actually watch and enjoy the movie. Yes, enjoy is definitely applicable to this one, too. Joke after joke had the entire room laughing (there were a few that fell flat, but the over whelming majority more than made up for those).

Besides the jokes, you have the parody. SOOOO much parody. I’m sure I didn’t get all of the references (I don’t watch that many movies, or at least I didn’t before I started coming to Skiffy). It also has a large number of really good big name actors. People that can act. Imagine that, actually watching a movie in this club where the people can act.

The best line of the movie (in my humble opinion) was somewhere near the beginning. The two main characters need a lead and so go to visit a man in an underground, Plexiglas cell. After a few jokes, they turn to go. One of the cops turns back just before they leave and says: Officer: “What does human flesh taste like?” Hannibal Lector Ripoff: “Chicken.”

Also, playing Bohemian Rhapsody at the end of the movie was pure genius. The entire room started head banging to the song at the same point as the people in the movie (if you’ve ever heard the song, you know what part I’m talking about. If you haven’t heard it, go look it up on YouTube!)

That is that, then. Hopefully I’ll be writing to you all again sometime before next Monday, but I hold out no promises.

Remember, head banging is an integral part of the Bohemian Rhapsody experience.

One comment

  1. Sounds like this one I might have to look into. 😀 And what’s this about watching a movie where actors can act in that club? No, seriously? 😀

    Does sound like it was a good time. 🙂 I always enjoy reading these movie bits.

Leave a Reply

