An Open Letter to the Boys in my Sunday School Class

Dear Boys,

Please stop trying to push the envelope. I know you are at that age when you want to challenge authority figures, but this is not the place to do so. Also, I would appreciate if you would stop with the swear words. I’ve known most of them since before you were speaking full sentences. That goes for the abbreviations too. It’s not appropriate, and you’re not getting away with anything. I hung out with the guys in high school, I know the slang for female genitalia.

Speaking of not getting away with stuff, when you come in and tell me your head is fuzzy, I’m probably not going to believe you hit your head (especially when you say some hit you with a unicycle). I know you’ve been out drinking. For that matter I know you smoke too. Please try to remember I was that age not too long ago.

I am not naive and I would like to think I am not stupid. Even if I am a bit of a geek and a little older than you, that doesn’t mean I don’t know what’s going on. Please try to keep that in mind the next time you tell me some BS story. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Your Teacher

Leave a Reply

