Boredom and Kidnapped Dinosaurs

For those of you who don’t know, I work at the front desk of a hotel in a national park. Lately work has been a little slow. We’re between seasons-the kids are back in school and the leaves haven’t started changing colors yet. Our hours have been temporarily cut until things pick up again, but that still doesn’t make up for the lack of things to do. So some of us have become creative. And no, I didn’t start this. Well technically I might have, but it’s totally not my fault. Really.

Saturday I brought in a tiny plastic dinosaur I found at the other house (it was mine when I was a kid). I placed it on my supervisor’s desk. Yesterday the dinosaur was gone and a ransom note was in it’s place. It still had not turned up today.

The crime scene, as it were. I was working on this stuff on and off for most of the day.

Now for some detail shots:

Here's a shot of the "Missing" posters I put up around the office. I also sent one over to the bar; I knew they'd get a kick out of it.

I fingerprinted a bunch of people (mostly from the bar). This is Anya's. You can see her creativity at work here.

I collected a variety of "evidence" and placed it in little baggies. The evidence ranged from a note that read "help" to footprints of where the dinosaur was dragged off.

And last but not least, the scene itself. Yes, that is homemade "crime scene" tape. It's amazing what you can do with some paper, a highlighter, and a sharpie.

Remember, if you your bored, excitement is just around the corner. Sometimes you have to invent it, though.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

