I’m Living in Bedlam

How sad is it when work is the eye of the storm? Life is at it again. Saturday night the water quit at the house we’re renting out (yes, the house we’ve spent so much time and money on). Figuring it was the well, the renters waited until morning, then had someone go check on it. The well is fine, and all the other houses that use it have water. So my dad called in our plumber (on triple overtime since it was a Sunday). The plumber, who I will call Noah-please take what symbolism from that as you can, was the one that found the wet spot on the lawn. A little digging (and a lot of bailing) revealed a broken water main. Noah tried to put a temporary patch on the pipe, but to no avail. They didn’t get water back until today. No word yet on how much it’s going to cost.

Then, this morning, my father went to clean the cat’s litter box and found the floor covered in blue liquid. After a search, it was discovered to be coming out of the white metal cabinet where we keep out cleaning supplies. To make long story short, a full container of floor cleaner leaked it’s contents all over everything. This does mean out laundry room floor is very clean. Great, I know.

And before I forget, I want to wish my parents a happy anniversary, though I think it might be a little late. Yes, their anniversary was today. My mom told my dad he really knows how to make the day memorable, but if they have too many more like this, she doesn’t think she’s going to make it.

Remember, memorable doesn’t always mean something you want to remember.

Leave a Reply

