An Update. Rare, I know.

I’m very sorry that I haven’t been updating like I should. I have been adjusting to my new job (!) as well as my normal writing, editing, and slushing. I’m currently living with my grandparents in New Jeresy. They were kind enough to take me in for the summer while I work for the National Park Service (though I have been helping around the house, doing things like cleaning the gutters, carrying heavy objects, and opening stubbornly closed objects). I very much like both the job and the people I work with, so it has all been a very positive change (though I’m not sure I’ll ever get used to going to bed at 9pm).

If I had been thinking, I would have started posting the letters I’ve been writing home (they’re some of my funnier experiences while working in New Jersey). Maybe I’ll start with the next one I write. I have so many funny stories to tell.

Here's a picture of me in my uniform. The pants are huge on me.

Here’s a picture of me in my uniform. The pants are huge on me.

Other good news is the sale of a story! I sold a piece of flash fiction to Fireside Magazine. It will appear in an upcoming issue. I don’t know much more than that at this point. I’ll give more details as I get them/am able to tell them.

Speaking of Fireside, some of you might remember they ran a fundraiser not too long ago. I promised two journals (and a pony) to Fireside. Well the journals are finished and mailed, so I will show them to you! The third journal was commissioned by a writer I know.

Aren't they beautiful?

Aren’t they beautiful?

That’s a pretty good summery about what’s been going on since the last time I checked in. I promise I’ll post again soon.

And because everyone needs roses (especially Robin McKinley) here are some courtesy of my grandmother’s garden.

Rose

rose2

Rose3

Leave a Reply

