GamerGate Needs to Stop

Dear GamerGate participants: You need to stop and think about what you are doing.

Probably most people reading this have heard of GamerGate. On the off chance you have not I will refer you to two sources with opposing biases, the Know Your Meme article and Charles Tan’s take on it:
Know Your Meme: GamerGate
#Gamergate Has Everything To Do With Gender by Charles Tan

This post was actually inspired in part by a post by Jaym Gates.

I am, by nature, a very private person. This means that while I do occasionally post opinion pieces, they are fairly rare (well, rarer than regular posts anyway). The point in this is that I need to feel very deeply about something in order to put myself out there. Well, I’m putting myself out there now. GamerGate needs to stop. It needs to stop now.

When I say GamerGate needs to stop, I am in no way talking about ethics in journalism. Ethics is important. It is not, however, more important than peoples’ safety and security. Women are being targeted. They are being harassed and threatened; there was a bombing/shooting threat at USU if Anita Sarkeesian appeared. And people are using GamerGate as cover.

No, not everyone, or even most people involved in GamerGate are threatening to blow up colleges or exposing women’s home addresses and sending them death threats. Some people are, though. Enough that I think those innocent people involved need to take a long, hard look at exactly what and who they’re dealing with. It’s like showing up to a protest and finding yourself standing next to the Westboro Baptist Church. Even if you agree 100% with the protest, there are times you need to take a step back and say no, I don’t want to be associated with this. Because that’s what’s happening. Even if you would never dream of threatening a woman, if you are perpetuating GamerGate you are associating with abusers, stalkers, and harassers.

It is, of course, your right to do and say what you want (as long as you’re not threatening or harming people; I shouldn’t have to tell you that’s criminal and wrong). You can go on being a part of GamerGate, but know that there are people judging you. We’re judging not because of anything you have done, but because of what other people have done. Do you want that?

I am not going to get into other reasons why GamerGate needs to stop; Charles Tan (who’s blog I linked to at the beginning of the post) has done a much better job of bringing up those points than I could. What I will say is that I do not support GamerGate. I do not support harassment, stalking, verbal or physical abuse. I will not stand by silently while these things happen. Will you?

Leave a Reply

